I thought long and hard about eagles…


I thought long and hard about eagles,
And I came to understand a lot:
Eagles fly among the clouds,
They fly without bothering anyone.
I came to understand that eagles live on cliffs and on mountains,
And that they’re friends with the water spirits.
I thought long and hard about eagles,
But it seems that I confused them with flies.

March 15, 1939

 

-Daniil Kharms (translated by me)

One Response to “I thought long and hard about eagles…”

  1. Oh, Thanks! Really interesting. keep working!

Leave a Reply

