Blue Balloon


Blue Balloon

A little girl cries: My balloon flew away.
She is consoled, but the balloon flies further.

A young woman cries: I still can’t find a husband.
She is consoled, but the balloon flies further.

A lady cries: My husband left me for another.
She is consoled, but the balloon flies further.

Cries an old crone: I lived so little.
However, the balloon has returned to her, and it is blue.

-Bulat Okudzhava (Translated by me)

6 Responses to “Blue Balloon”

  1. Show this guy to the pen, Andrew. Bulat knows women SO well…

  2. mikhailych Says:

    Come on Carole, Bulat is good people. He doesn’t deserve the pen. I think it’s less about women and more about life.

  3. A little boy cries: My balloon flew away.
    He is consoled, but the balloon flies further.

    A young man cries: I still can’t find a wife.
    He is consoled, but the balloon flies further.

    A gentleman cries: My wife left me for another.
    He is consoled, but the balloon flies further.

    Cries an old hermit [the male version of crone]: I lived so little.
    However, the balloon has returned to him, and it is blue.

    So Andrew – is the poem still about life when you change the gender?

  4. mikhailych Says:

    Well, less so I suppose. Point taken. If Bulat were still with us, I’d show him to the pen for you.

  5. Большое спасибо!

  6. mikhailych Says:

    Anytime.

Leave a Reply

