Moments

Vadim Shefner
Moment
By Vadim Shefner

Do not grow accustomed to wonders,
Be amazed by them, be amazed!
Do not grow accustomed to the Heavens,
Cast your gaze up towards them.

Glance at the clouds,
Listen to the birds,
Touch your lips against cool springs,
None of this will be repeated.

Moment after moment, step after step,
Become amazed.
Everything as it was, yet not as it was,
In a single moment.
1964

Translated by me.

2 Responses to “Moments”

  1. Geraldine Says:

    That is lovely ! – I mean, the translation of ‘Moments’ . Where can I find the Russian version ? I’m learning Russian (in my dotage) , and think I might be able to understand the words !

    Geraldine

Leave a Reply

