Hungarian Literature

Geza Csath

So I’ll post a new translation soon. I am very glad that the one that I shared was a success! In the meantime, a while ago I read the diary of Geza Csath, who was a very interesting figure in Hungarian literature during the turn of the century. His diary is dark snapshot of a life that just kept plummeting and plummeting downward.  The whole thing ends very tragically. When I was done reading it, I penned these few lines as a response and I figured I’d share them here with all my readers out in blog-world. Now I’m not claiming that they’re good or terribly insightful, especially I consider myself more a translator of poetry more than a poet myself, but mine nonetheless:

I once read the memoirs of a Hungarian doctor,

His life spiraled out of control before our eyes.

The ins and outs sprawled before me,

a black abyss lay in front of both of us.

His journey ended neatly in red when the pages stopped,

Mine continued to crawl sluggishly forward in varying shades of beige.

 

 

Leave a Reply

