First Post

So this is my inaugural post. A bit about myself I suppose. I’m a translator/writer living in New York.  I mainly work from Russian to English and the other way around, but I’ve been known to do basic Czech in a pinch. This blog will for the most part be full of translations and original writing. I suppose an observation on life every now and then to keep my friends entertained. For my very first entry, I’d like to post a poem that I spent all day Friday translating toying around with. Its an untitled piece from a book called Letters from the Frontthat I have been obsessed with for the last week. It apparently was originally published in 1944 and given to soldiers serving on the Leningrad Front and was reprinted in 2005 for the 60th anniversary of the end of WWII.  Something that I picked up in St. Petersburg during the summer I was there doing research on the Blockade. Anyway, please enjoy:

Untitled

By Konstantin Simonov

Wait for me and I will return.

Just, wait intently.

Wait when the yellow rains bring you sadness,

Wait when the snows come barreling down,

Wait when the heat swelters,

Wait when those, who were forgotten yesterday, are no longer waited for.

Wait when letters do not arrive from distant places,

Wait when those who wait with you, grow weary of it.

Wait for me and I will return,

To spite all deaths.

Let him who did not wait for me say,

“He lucked out.”

He could not understand how,

In the line of fire,

You saved me with your expectation.

Only you and I will know how I survived.

It is just that you knew how to wait, like no one other.

1941

2 Responses to “First Post”

  1. A very poignant poem, thank you for sharing it.

  2. imagesharpie Says:

    hey there,
    I hope you don’t mind me dropping by, I feel it was quite by purpose that I found you and your lovely poem [which I have to say is devine]
    I have a friend who is lost within herself atm and she has asked me to wait, so I wait…
    “It is just that you knew how to wait, like no one other”
    thank you for being right where I needed you to be.
    all my thoughts and well wishes.
    xkx

Leave a Reply

